I Tweet, Therefore, I Am

This is going to be a short post, although probably longer than 140 characters.

Because, let’s face it, 140 just isn’t that many characters. Especially for someone who likes commas, like I do.

I was told by the very nice woman interviewing me for Radio Gorgeous last week that anyone ‘flogging a new book’ needed to tweet.

And, while I pondered the difference between ‘flogging’ and ‘chatting about’, she whipped out her phone and tweeted that she was showing me how to tweet.

And then showed me how it was now in the ‘Twitterverse’.

Honestly.

When the publisher later asked how the interview went, I told them all about the tweeting incident, expecting them to be as amused as I was.

They weren’t. They were pleased, and immediately tweeted that I would now be tweeting. And sent me a very long, very detailed, ‘How To’ guide.

And so, I tried. I really tried. I read the guide, I looked on line, I even bought a book. I set up an account (@EileenRileyArms).

But, the truth of the matter is, I just don’t get it.

Yes, I know, Twitter went public this week. The people behind it are now zillionaires. The Arab Spring could not have happened without it.

But, seriously, why do people do this? Who is actually interested in what most of us are doing, on a minute-by-minute basis?

Who can be as brief as 140 characters?

Why would anyone want to know that the boys are watching the big game?

Christo and Jim

Or that Elvis has a little friend?

Elvises

Well, I’m interested in those things. Obviously. But why would anyone else be?

I do, however, want you to know that I have just followed two of the publishers’ recommendations for tweeting…involve dogs, and include photos.

I hope they’re impressed, even if no one else is.

Meanwhile, if you have any ideas on how to do this, or any suggestions of things I can tweet about, I would really appreciate hearing from you.

Take as many characters as you want.

Not Leo Tolstoy (aka Eileen Riley)

This entry was posted in About Me, Dogs, Humour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Tweet, Therefore, I Am

  1. Sam Thomas says:

    Dear Eileen
    I do totally understand what you are saying about the Twittersphere but under estimate it at your peril! So here’s a short version of a long story! Fergus, are not very brave but we love him very much Working (or as Tobyn describes him leisure) Cocker Spaniel was stolen from his boarding kennel in Kent along with a Daschund in the middle of the night in August. There were at the time 110 dogs holidaying there, why these 2 still is a mystery! Anyway, we were oblivious to all as being walked up a mountain in Africa, no mobiles etc but my very dear friend and neighbour who understands all this social networking, started a Twitter Campaign #findfergus and 3 weeks later and more tweeting than you can possibly imagine a phone call was made to the number on his Dog Lost poster with an address for the dog that was all over Twitter & Facebook, and even more amazingly the other dog was found 4 days later. It is certainly a strange world we live in with what we have to say being reduced to 140 characters, but just occasionally there are some real gems put out there and it brought my dog home!
    Love, Sam x

    • Eileen Riley says:

      That’s an unbelievable story. Welcome home, Fergus! But, what I don’t understand, is how your friend got a campaign started. Why did people who don’t know you or Fergus get involved? How did that work?? And, how did your friend come to understand all this?

  2. Brad says:

    Eileen, I don’t tweet either. Facebooking is enough for me. But I do txt which is only 120 characters. If you can text, you can tweet. A tweet is like a reporters sound bite of your life, your doings. People subscribe because it sounds interesting or they can sympathies. Others look for siliceous incidents to liven up their day. Very droll of them. If you tweet like you were making casual comments about what’s happening or what you plan to do like you were tt friends and family it might make it easier? Just a thought. You’ll do fine, might think you won’t but you will.

    Best luck!

    • Eileen Riley says:

      Thanks Brad. Good advice. Maybe I’ll just post old texts. I’m sure the universe is interested in the fact that the train is late but I’ll be there as soon as I can! Weird new world.

  3. And if you add hash-tags to your tweets, like, e.g. #dogs, people who are interested in dogs will get to see them too, so as long as you keep putting in a link to a book store and the hash-tag, you’ll be good to go.

    • Eileen Riley says:

      You are obviously very good at this. Sitting here laughing about the idea of putting a link for the book in to every tweet. Might do it, if only I could think of something to tweet. Experiencing total Twitters Block!

Leave a Reply

