Sorry – We’re Closed

I know that I promised to post a blog every Sunday for a year. And, for 41 weeks in a row now, I have done just that – on Christmas Day, and the morning after New Year’s Eve, and right before the Easter Egg hunt. Even on that Sunday when I wasn’t feeling very well, not to mention all those weeks when I had absolutely nothing to say, I managed to come up with something.

But not this week, I’m afraid.

Because this week, we’re closed. All of us. The entire country. Banks and businesses…and blogs.

We are, collectively, celebrating the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. You may have heard about it. It has, after all, been in the papers quite a bit.

As we speak, the entire nation is covered in bunting, from the largest cities to the tiniest villages. It’s hanging out of windows, and strung across streets, and flying from fences, and fields and phone boxes.

Union Jacks are being used as shawls, and capes and caps. And, in one particularly unfortunate incident, leggings. We are drinking out of mugs emblazoned with the Queen’s image, and eating pizzas with the crosses of Saints George and David and Andrew picked out in pepperoni.

Jubilee cricket matches are being played on village greens from John O’Groats to Land’s End. Madrigals are being sung, amateur dramatics are being performed and Comic Crown competitions are being held. All over the place.

A vast armada is preparing to sail up the Thames. The RAF is dusting off some planes for a fly past. And Elton John is getting ready to be wheeled out for the big Jubilee Concert in front of Buckingham Palace.

And here, in the small village in Somerset where we are spending Jubilee Weekend with our friends, we have just come back from watching a display of teddy bears parachuting off the church spire.

In short, the entire country has gone mad. In the nicest possible way.

And all of this to celebrate the Queen’s 60 years on the throne. Yes, the nation is awash with photographs from her coronation on 2nd June 1953.

1953???

Wasn’t that…well, wasn’t that 59 years ago?

Please tell me I’m wrong. Because, while I may be up for doing all this again next year, I really don’t think the teddies are.

Even so, whatever the number, and whatever it is we are celebrating, I hope you all have a very happy Jubilee. Wherever you are.

Not Leo Tolstoy (aka Eileen Riley)

This entry was posted in About Me, Friends, Humour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorry – We’re Closed

  1. Aha! But she came to the throne in 1952. I remember watching the. coronation (aged 3) on a tiny TV. I’m on my way to London today to go to a street party. What can I say? 30 years in the USA and I’m still sentimental. Or maybe just mental…

    • Eileen Riley says:

      You’re here! Welcome home. We had a wonderful street party too. The houses are all decorated in bunting. The neighbours are all chatting to each other. The rain is holding off for awhile. All in all, I have to say that this is a wonderful place to be right now.

Leave a Reply

