Not Again

I have some shocking news for you…

Christmas is a week from today.

I know, I can’t believe it either, but I am afraid that it’s true. When the nice man on the radio mentioned it this morning, I was surprised that they could make such an enormous mistake on what I had always assumed was a reputable news programme. So, I checked my calendar and, sadly, it was confirmed.

How did this happen?

Looking back on it, there may have been some clues. The number of parties, for example, has noticeably increased in the last week or so. And my boy did come home from university yesterday. And our friend who is coming to spend the holidays with us arrives tomorrow. Actually, that last one really should have made me stop and think a bit more than it obviously has.

But, in my defence, I’ve been very busy, what with work and parties to go to and everything. I am not saying that I wasn’t aware that Christmas was happening, I just didn’t realise it was happening quite so soon.

It’s an easy mistake to make. After all, the Christmas decorations have been up for months now. The local schools have been having Christmas Fayres every weekend since the trees had leaves on them. And, the Christmas channel on television has been broadcasting for so long that I have pretty much memorised their schedule.

You get desensitised to it and so you don’t really notice that the countdown has not only begun, but is actually about to end. As a result, you wake up one morning wondering whether to have toast or a bagel and some voice in your kitchen announces that you have pretty much done it again…entered Christmas week totally unprepared.

Of course, if we received Christmas cards it might have helped. I would almost certainly have noticed them arriving on the mat. But, since we have not been organised enough to send any out since sometime in the mid 1990s, the numbers that come in have understandably dwindled (thank you very much, both of you). This, of course, is the last time that that will ever happen because next year I am going to send them out to everyone I have ever met. Undoubtedly the day after Thanksgiving. I have made a note to myself. That, however, will not help me now.

And so, I am a week away from Christmas and trying to beat down the rising sense of panic which is threatening to engulf me. There is, I am trying to remind myself, no need for it. Christmas is, after all, about the birth of Christ and not about a new coffee machine. But, it would be nice if everyone had a package or two under the tree, and maybe something a bit special to eat and drink. So, perhaps, I had better just end this now and start rethinking how I am going to be spending the rest of my day.

Once I finish my bagel, and the last chapter of my book.

Oh, and before I forget, my blog has been nominated for the Transatlantic Diablog Award, whatever that is, and the voting is now open. I really don’t want to come in last so, if you could find it in your hearts to click here  and vote for me, I will make sure that Santa Claus knows about it. Honestly. I will. And if you ask your friends to vote too, I may just come down your chimney myself.

Thanks very much, and happy week before Christmas.

Not Leo Tolstoy (aka Eileen Riley)

Gallery | This entry was posted in About Me, Humour, Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not Again

  1. Mim says:

    I know my card was smaller this year but I did send one……! How you have time to write your blog AND get ready for Christmas is an extraordinary feat. Bet you don’t post one on Christmas Day! Give yourself a week off and ……HAPPY CHRISTMAS TO YOU ALL!

  2. Eileen Riley says:

    Now, there’s a challenge! You, by the way, are at the top of next year’s Christmas card list. Happy Christmas to you and your fellow Grahams.

  3. Mim says:

    Of course I should have added that I look forward to more entertaining blogs in 2012 and even the launch of a book?

  4. publikworks says:

    Don’t you think Christmas should be on a schedule like the Olympics, once every couple of years? Give everyone a bit of time to recover and relax before weighing in to the craziness again.

    And I did put in a flurry of votes for you in the Transtlantic Diablog thing. It’s how I’m appeasing my guilt for putting that birthday song in your head. Sorry. Then, too, I have designs on coming in dead last and with a very comfortable distance between me and the next guy, thank you very much.

    • Eileen Riley says:

      Nooooooo….can you imagine the enormous stress that would be caused by having FOUR YEARS to prepare for something and still having it catch you unawares?

      Sorry to be the one to have to tell you the bad news, but I think your dream of coming in dead last is doomed to failure. In fact, my money (what’s left of it after yesterday’s panic spree) is on you to do ‘rather well’ as we would say here.

  5. jakesprinter says:

    Great Entry MERRY CHRISTMAS to you my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

